top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Nachreiner

Mixing The Cinematic Universe and Reality

I love superhero films, ask anybody that knows me and they will tell you. I love what marvel is doing with creating a universe within movies hence why they keep making gobs upon gobs of money. While as much as I would like to throw on Cap's shield or Iron Man's suit I can't, they are not real. Granted in today's social climate there are those that would love it to be as simple as good guy vs bad guy. In reality it isn't that simple.


When I was in college I was in an advanced comm class and I forget the name of it ( my Prof would probably lecture me about forgetting it). My Prof asked the question "do you think media has an influence over our lives or make an impact?" Some raised their hands and I didn't. Then she asked "do you think media doesn't have an impact on our lives?" I raised my hand. My Professor asked me why and I responded "I believe people have been taught what they see in movies and TV isn't real and that we can separate our lives from the media." If I stood in front of that class and my Professor asked that question again I would raise my hand and say absolutely media has an impact on our lives.


Initially I want to state that media has an impact because it makes us feel good to go to a movie or see a movie or good show. So we get a response from consuming media. It can be good, bad or indifferent or even thought provoking. This is where I give Black Panther a ton of credit because the protagonist and antagonist had points and views people could agree with, one or the other or see it from both sides. It wasn't as simple as good guy or bad guy scenario. Responses and feelings shape and mold our thoughts and mindset at those given times and depending on the media could be a response that stays with people. John Wayne movies are a perfect example as media that stays with me.


I think media has such an influence that we have lost our separation from it. (I know I sound like the older generation all millennial's do is spend time in their phones. That is not what I am saying.) We look at things in the context of Good Vs Evil. We look at our politics through the lens of House of Cards. Believe me I have seen the comparisons on social media a plenty. We look at life now as an Us Vs Them mentality. Its like everyone pick a side and you are either with us or against us. Reality; life isn't that simple!


I remember (again going back to my college days) my philosophy Professor explained there was a time when Muslim, Jewish, and Christian scholars gathered not as enemies but as individuals engaging in debate not trying to prove one or the other wrong but simply for debate and challenge of ideas. I wish we could get to that point again. Many times whether it is in sports or politics I do look to challenge my ideas and thoughts on issues not because I am not strong in my beliefs but because I am eager to learn and challenge others as well. Now when I say challenge I don't mean in the sense prove your side or else, not at all but engage in dialogue that could perhaps lead to better understanding or new ideas.


I know how are political climate is and it is not good. I have liberal friends and conservative friends I am always down to engage in discussion as long as it's done respectfully. I go into conversations not with the mindset to change minds but to challenge minds. One side claims the other is evil and vile. They can do that but it is not in the best interest of society, trying to dehumanize people for their political beliefs is wrong.


This leads to me my next point. Sometimes I worry that the press, they look at themselves as Clark Kent or Wonder Woman. That they are heroes protecting the people. This is where that mix of cinematic vs reality comes into play. They are no more a hero then I am a "Genuis, Billionaire, Playboy, Philanthropist." The media is not the enemy, and neither are the people that differ in political beliefs. I think there are those in the media that show elitism and when they are challenged about it; they take it as a personal attack. The media is a tool! It can be wielded for good and wielded for harm, like many tools can be. The people and the media are fallible. Mankind makes mistakes as the saying goes "Hell is paved with good intentions." I am not knocking my colleagues and trying to attack them but in this day and age of a lack of objectivity, our biases do play out. I know they will say well "prove it" and I say "tell me, look deep inside and tell me they don't; honestly." I don't believe I am saving anyone or doing anyone any harm. I do not want anyone harmed whether its the media or people with differing political views. Violence in the exchange of ideas is a concept that hinders not helps.


We must be better, if we disagree then do so respectfully and if the conversation gets too heated then change topics. We are very passionate creatures and our feelings can run high. Like when Jordan apologists and Lebron apologists get together to debate it's not an us vs them conversation because at the end of the debate we can acknowledge that fact that they were the best players in their era.


In reality it is not that simple as good vs evil or us vs them. It will never be, the sooner we stop acting as such the better off we will be. Our lives are not movies, yes there is a beginning with birth and an end with death but our stories are complex and have a variety of angles.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page