top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Nachreiner

Once a Brave, Always a Brave

Updated: Aug 15, 2019

By now everyone has heard the news, if you are a Montana Tech fan you really like the move. If you are a Flathead fan, you support the move but you are also a little disappointed. Not because Kyle took the job, but because the Braves lose a damn good coach. Many of the Braves faithful that I have talked to knew a day would come when college football would take Kyle Samson.


When you look back at the last 5 years Kyle has been here, the impact is astronomical. Revitalizing a program from the ashes. Restoring Pride and Tradition back at Flathead football. Starting from scratch essentially and building this program brick by brick. As I write this I think of the sports cliche's "Brick by Brick, building the foundation, family," we hear those all the time whether in college or in professional sports. In those situations they end up as punchlines then actualities. With Kyle they were not punchline's but living statements. I have written about how close this football team is and how they are a family. After this past seasons success, much like the brick at Flathead High School the foundation is strong and now you just keep building the house bigger and better so you can fit lots of trophies.


Kyle's success isn't just limited to football, but the Flathead community. That's what makes his loss even harder. He was a guy that was infectious with his positive attitude and motivation. The list of former players and people that would run through a brick wall for Kyle is a long one. Kyle inspired other programs at Flathead whether it was his speaking to teams before big post season battles, assembly's during school, or simply there supporting the other activities. Kyle taking his team to the elementary school and reading to the kids, supporting community events. There are so many other examples of how Kyle impacted the Flathead community. Kyle understood to generate excitement about the program you have to be out there in the community getting people excited about it as well.


It was quite the scene Saturday January 5th, 2019 as Flathead honored Kyle at Halftime of the Braves game against Post Falls. A standing ovation for Kyle and his family. Kyle was also presented a plaque that said "Once a Brave, Always a Brave". After the Braves won 56-53 over Post Falls you could see a lot of people come up to Kyle and either shake his hand or give him a bear hug. Players and his staff were there for him as well. I spoke with Bryce Wilson at halftime of the Braves game and Bryce told me "Kyle was probably my best hire". Bryce also talked about the lasting friendship he and Kyle would have.


One of the things I truly enjoyed about Kyle was his authenticity. I never felt like I was getting a front from Kyle. You could feel his passion about his players and the program. I never saw Kyle bleed but I am pretty sure, there is literally orange and black in his blood. During football season I always enjoyed our conversations usually lasting about 20-30 minutes as we discuss the weeks opponent and things I would prepare for the broadcast. Our post-game conversations were a blast. My favorite post-game conversation was the one after Flathead defeated Bozeman 21-17. When I speak to the authenticity of Kyle Samson, you see a man that hurts just as much as his team as they fell short of winning a title. Kyle told me how hard it was for him to make this decision because of how much he cared about the people at Flathead. If you have been around Kyle the last few days you can tell how hard it was for Kyle as well.


My final thoughts, Kyle is one of a kind. He will be really tough to replace and who does will have to fill big shoes not only in the win loss column of the football field but in the community of the Flathead faithful. I wish nothing but the best for Kyle and his family and I will be excited to see what he does at Tech. I appreciate Kyle's friendship and kind words about what I do for the Braves.



Kyle chatting with me at halftime of Bravettes BB game


Here is Kyle Samson's letter to Flathead.



Going forward for the Braves.


Bryce Wilson has a very tough job. Trying to replace Kyle will not be easy and I am sure it will be a hire from within. There are quality candidates on Kyle's staff and I know he would want to see one of his guys leading the program. Who will those candidates be? I know a few names that I have in mind but until I can confirm who has applied I'll keep it to myself. The new coach will have a lot to figure out in his first year. Defensively this team will bring a lot back across all three levels. Offensively who is calling the plays? whose playing QB, who is running the football, and who is catching the football. You have to try and replace 3 out of 5 guys on the Oline, a dual threat QB, record setting running-back and a electrifying wide receiver. At the same time this new coach will have to put his own stamp on the program. Should be a very interesting next few weeks to find out who will be the next Head Coach, and then what will happen in August when camp starts.

155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page